You will embark on one of two narrated journeys (you choose either the Historical or Haunted Tour) around the Peninsula.  The Historical Tour focuses on the history of the Peninsula, sailing ships, railroads, villages, lighthouses, forts, Lewis and Clark, and other events.  The Haunted Tour focuses on ghost stories and haunted folklore from the “Graveyard of the Pacific” (if these types of stories bother you—please take the Historical Tour).  Tours will also be conducted on select Thursdays—please double check for the topic.  Author, Professor, Attorney, retired senior federal executive, and member of the Historical Writers Association Ira Wesley Kitmacher, of Ocean Park, Washington, will be your guide.  He has researched extensively and written two books about the area: “Haunted Graveyard of the Pacific” (published July 2021), and “Spirits Along the Columbia River” (will be published September 2022).  He has also written a book (“Monsters and Miracles,” to be published June 2022) about World War II history and European folklore, and others.  He has a passion for area history and folklore and looks forward to your riding with him.  Your journey will start in Downtown Long Beach, WA. The trolley picks up passengers behind/on the side of the Merchants Association building on 3rd St near the intersection with Pacific Ave. You will journey through Seaview, Ilwaco, Chinook, Fort Columbia, Middle Village/Station Camp, Nahcotta, Oysterville, and Ocean Park, returning to downtown Long Beach.

Ira’s books are available in Long Beach at Bold, the Cranberry Museum, and Marsh’s Free Museum; in Ilwaco at Time Enough Books; in Astoria at Godfathers Books, and the Columbia River Maritime Museum; and on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other major booksellers. He will also have books for sale on the tour, and is happy to personally address and sign copies.

Both tours will be 1:00PM-3:00PM and 3:00PM-5:00PM

Historical Tour

Friday May 27

Friday June 3

Friday July 1

Friday July 15

Friday July 22

Friday July 29

Friday Aug 5

Friday Aug 26

Friday Sept 30

Friday Oct 14

Friday Nov 11

Saturday Dec 3

Saturday Dec 10

Click Here for Historical Tour Tickets

Haunted Tour

Saturday May 28

Saturday June 4

Thursday July 14

Saturday July 16

Thursday July 21

Saturday July 23

Saturday July 30

Thursday Aug 25

Saturday Aug 27

Saturday Sept 3

Thursday Sept 29

Saturday Oct 1

Thursday Oct 13

Saturday Nov 12

Click Here for Haunted Tour Tickets